Threads of Identity 1 – the half-way stage?

Halfway(?) through Threads of Identity 1
Halfway(?) through Threads of Identity 1

Having done what I call the construction sewing on this – putting down the foundations and making sure the whole thing sticks together – I can move into the more interesting decorative phase.   This piece is turning into a bit of a delight for me because it is going together easily and it is allowing me to enjoy really beautiful textiles.  So, there is some more of the lovely linen on the left, and on the right some of the exquisite silk from Margo Selby.  These textiles are so beautiful they don’t really need much doing to them.  The big tassel in the centre is made from a lovely double-sided silk furnishing fabric, and was supplied, as was the piece of old lace at the bottom by my mother.  Once I have finished attaching these elements, the fun can really start with the embellishments, which I think will start to let a narrative emerge.

Threads of Identity 1 lace detail
Threads of Identity 1 lace detail

I think this will be an interesting example of letting the piece speak to me and tell me its own story.

Leave a Reply

