Threads of Identity 1 – again

Threads of Identity 1 - close-up
Threads of Identity 1 - close-up

I think that this panel is finally finished, although I have at least two quilts which I don’t think will ever be done: The Body Shop Quilt and The Starbucks Quilt.  But this one seems to have decided that it is complete.  This is how it started:

Threads of Identity 1 - initial stages
Threads of Identity 1 - initial stages

Then I added some more elements:

Threads of Identity 1 - 80% done
Threads of Identity 1 - 80% done

I thought that this was more or less finished, but it didn’t tell me it was done.  I have blogged about this before.  I think artworks, or projects if you don’t like the loaded connotations of ‘art’, speak to you, before during and after their creation.  Some are incredibly chatty, like the Body Shop Quilt, while others do it a bit more quietly and sporadically.  This one was a whisperer.  But an insistent one.  It really wasn’t finished despite the nice decorative elements like the little framed Virgin and the rather glorious spotty snake.  It needed more, and what it needed was some hand stitching.  I increasingly find that the things I make get upset if I try to rush them, or don’t want to put in the work, or don’t lavish enough attention on them.  The minute I started to put in the black stitching to bring out the snake a bit more, it came to life:

Threads of Identity 1 - stitching detail
Threads of Identity 1 - stitching detail

I was always unhappy about the way it seemed to fade out a bit at the point of the antique lace at the bottom and the final stage was to find some mother-of-pearl buttons and stitch them on with thick black stranded embroidery thread to act as punctuation marks:

Threads of Identity 1 - button detail
Threads of Identity 1 - button detail

This device also pulled in the blue felt heart which had looked a bit marooned prior to getting its button.  Once I had done this and added some rudimentary embroidery such as the chain stitch to the side of the Laura Ashley swatch the piece felt complete and I knew it was done:

Threads of Identity 1 (2011) The Final Piece
Threads of Identity 1 (2011) The Final Piece

It just remains to put this into the box frame I bought for it, and then the first piece in this project is done.

Leave a Reply

