Threads of Identity 3

Threads of Identity 3
Threads of Identity 3

So, Threads of Identity 3, part of my Laura Ashley project is now complete.  I blogged previously about gessoing over the stitching on this piece, but in the end, although I really enjoyed working in a neutral palette for once, I couldn’t resist putting in some colour.  Hence the big piece of slashed silk fabric.  Otherwise, however, this is one of the most subtle things I have made.  There is a lot of detail that you need to be close up to see, as in the following photographs:

Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail

And, spurred on by the example of Matthew Harris, about whom I blogged earlier, this is the first quilt that I have signed:

Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail

This felt a bit odd, but I really liked the effect.  It is quite difficult to see unless you look very closely, but, to me, it signifies that I take my work seriously.  I will sign the whole series in this way.

I used some big feature elements in this quilt, such as the bead, which I backed with some fine gold tulle – I very much like and am influenced by Beryl Taylor’s technique of building up layers of small elements which she then attaches to a whole.  This is quite a simple version, but including the tulle gives it a bit of texture and depth:

Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail

And, there was a large gap in the composition of the piece, which I think I had kept because it was the piece of Laura Ashley fabric, but it cried out for something which would be a focal point.  I used a laser-cut Christmas tree decoration from the Victoria and Albert Museum Shop sale, which was bold but also delicate:

Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail

I was always told not to wear gold and silver together as it was rather vulgar, but in this piece it seems to work.  The gold circles are cut from some ruinously expensive braid that I paid full-price for (imagine, not donated by my mother, or picked up in some sale and sprayed gold) in MacCulloch and Wallis ( http://www.macculloch-wallis.co.uk) which has a very elegant website which will not prepare you for the ordered chaos in the actual shop.  Here’s the braid:

Threads of Identity 3 - detail
Threads of Identity 3 - detail

On the other hand, the combination reminds of the primary school hymn ‘Daisies are our silver, buttercups our gold’.  Which might be a clue to the identity of the woman for whom this collection of cloth adds up to an identity.

Incidentally, ‘Threads of Identity 2’ is still in construction.

Leave a Reply

