Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2

Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2
Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2

On Saturday we went to the Victoria Gallery to pick up my lovely piece, Cloth Fragment 2, by Matthew Harris.  I blogged about the show last month, so won’t say much here, except that I really like his work, which is meticulously planned, always very elegant, so I was delighted to be able to afford to buy a piece.

It was lovely to be able to touch it, as in galleries you are hardly ever allowed to touch textile exhibits – for good reason, but it is still frustrating.  I am fascinated by the way that he constructs his folded pieces of painted and dyed and printed dust cloth, and so it was great to be able to look at the stitching up close:

Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2, detail
Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2, detail

The other thing which didn’t occur to me when we bought it, was that it is more or less reversible.  It clearly has a front, but it also has a lovely reverse:

Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2, reverse
Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2, reverse

So, I will have to think carefully about how to frame it.  Hanging it in a perspex box would be one way, but that will probably be as expensive as the piece itself.  So, something to ponder.

The main thing for me, though, was that it did not disappoint when I came to take it out of its tissue paper.  It feels lovely in the hand, and I really love it.  I love the fact that a piece of textile art can feel quite so solid.  And I really love the subdued palette.  It is a lovely thing to have.

2 thoughts on “Matthew Harris, Cloth Fragment 2

  1. Oh Ann, I envy you but also congratulate you on such good taste. I love Matthew’s work and was fortunate to see it a couple of years ago at the Stroud International Textile Festival. He gave a talk about his work which was very illuminating. One day I’ll buy a piece too!

Leave a Reply

