Some proper, traditional quilting, for once…

Mum's green bali batik quilt
Mum's green bali batik quilt

One of the nicest things about going to visit my mother, and I am just back from Nottingham, is that you get to sleep under quilts.  On our previous visit it was an exquisite blue and white Baltimore that she was given last year for a ‘big’ birthday by her friends.  This time it was this lovely quilt which is a brilliant design for fabric lovers and is stuffed full of gorgeous bali batiks.  A major challenge is keeping the wilful white terriers off them…  Here’s another picture:

More bali batiks
More bali batiks

Because it turned a bit cold, I got to use another of her quilts, in fact her latest, this rich green and rose patchwork:

Green and rose quilt
Green and rose quilt

The reverse of this quilt is also worth a look as it shows off some skilful long-arm quilting:

Green and rose quilt - reverse
Green and rose quilt - reverse

I think my mother was a bit disappointed when I couldn’t offer any help with the mitre-ing of the corners of this quilt, but I can only do the continuous binding method, otherwise I am completely rubbish because it requires precision and planning and accuracy, none of which are my strong suit.

One thing I am interested in, though, is the fact that both of these quilts are predominantly green which is my mother’s favourite colour and therefore a colour she works with a lot.  I really dislike green, and have no idea why.  I absolutely love red in all its shades and love to work with it and wear it.  I almost always include a dot at least of red in everything I make.  My mother really dislikes red, never wears it, doesn’t include it in her quilts, but gave me a lovely sample pack of reds with gold prints last time I saw her.  It’s interesting that we share a love of the craft, but have such different ideas about colour.

Leave a Reply

