Bristol Quilters Exhibition 2-4 June, Badminton School

Handsewn hexagons - not by me!
Handsewn hexagons - not by me!
 
Today is the opening day of Bristol Quilters Exhibition at Badminton School (BS9 3BA for sat navs).  It is open from 1 pm – 6 pm today; 10 am- 6 pm on Friday and 10 am-4 pm on Saturday.  Admission is £3.50, which is a bargain – less than two cups of coffee in downtown Bristol and much better for the soul.  There will, indeed, be tea and coffee and homemade cakes, plus a tombola so that you could win a cushion made by one of the very accomplished quilters exhibiting.  There is a sales table (Christmas shopping can never start too early) and traders on each day.
 
There are over 130 quilts plus small objects and wall hangings.  Bristol Quilters ran a very successful collaborative quilting project in which each person made a row of a quilt and passed it on.  These quilts will also be on display.
 
I am exhibiting my enormous Body Shop quilt.  I had an email last night from Rosy, the saintly woman who is in charge of exhibits, to say that one of the terracotta figures had fallen off.  My first response was that it was typical of me to glue things on which promptly drop off instead of stitching them on properly, but, on reflection this morning, it struck me that this was so typical of Anita, contrary to the end…
 
I strongly recommend a visit.  The work will be exquisite and interesting.  The welcome will be warm.  The cake will be homemade.  And, if the weather lasts, a walk on Bristol’s magnificent public space, The Downs, will be a second restorative to the soul.
 
I am stewarding on Saturday lunchtime on the ticket desk (the fools think I’m a responsible adult), so come and say hello if you get a chance.
One thought on “Bristol Quilters Exhibition 2-4 June, Badminton School

  1. Call me partisan if you like ( I have a quilt on show) but I went today and was stunned by the volume of quilts on show and the incredibly high standard of all the entries. People who were not at all partisan were saying that the show is better than many of the national ones.
    And the cakes are indeed delicious…
    So do go if at all possible

Leave a Reply

