Fantastic, thoughtful presents…

It’s better to give than to receive, apparently.  Hmmm.

People who know me well, know that I love giving presents and give them all the time as soon as I see them, and for no reason other than I think people will like them.  I have more or less stopped giving things I have made.  I can’t stand seeing good close friends (you know who you are) smiling bravely at some lumpy notebook you could never write in, or some horrible bag that only a particularly taste-free seven-year-old would like, or some badly mounted picture that you have to find houseroom for, particularly if we are about to descend for a visit.  But, I give a lot of books and stuff and like doing it.  I have blogged before about generosity being the way out of our current woes – I know it is as battily naive as you can get, but I am sticking to the position.

That aside, I had some totally lovely presents this year from people giving me stuff for my textile work.  These were often we were going to throw this away and then thought of you, which is nice in a sort of back-handed compliment kind of way.  And, anyone who quilts and is reading this will know that sinking feeling you get when people say, ‘I’ve got a bag of fabric for you,’ as you know it will be 75% polyester in garish colours and 25% crimpolene, and you will have to find an unsuspecting rag rug maker to shift it onto.  But this year was totally different and I got some utterly gorgeous stuff.  So this post is a photo gallery of Christmas presents I received very gratefully indeed.  I have not included the block of beeswax that my beautiful friend Ruth gave me, but that was delightful and fragrant and will be very welcome for bookbinding in 2012.  So here are some lovely treats Santa brought this year:

Glorious taffeta-type furnishing fabric samples from my Mother

Glorious taffeta-type furnishing fabric samples from my Mother

Gorgeous cotton tie-dyes from my Mother

Gorgeous cotton tie-dyes from my Mother

Gorgeous vintage brocade and golden gauze from Alison and David, and lace from Julie

Gorgeous vintage brocade and golden gauze from Alison and David, and lace from Julie

Lovely box of bits from Ceri

Lovely box of bits from Ceri

Just my kind of thing keyring from Meg and Edward

Just my kind of thing keyring from Meg and Edward

All will be coming soon in work in 2012…

Thanks again,

Ann

Leave a Reply

