The onwards march of the ladybirds

 

IMG_1756

 

I’m sorry that there has been such a long gap in posting.  I have been marking, feeling sorry for myself with two summer colds and therefore sleeping, and travelling out of town to meetings.  But, things are quietening down a bit now and so I would like to catch up.

One of the things that I have been doing is making ladybirds as prizes for the students who took part in the Go Green project that I did with my Grate Frend, Beatriz Acevedo.  I also made some for the team and for some of the organisations that we worked with who wanted one.  I have blogged about them before in a previous post and my hunch was right that the students would not want pretty pretty ladybirds and the goth ones were very popular.  So here is a photo gallery of the ladybirds in all their recycled glory.

 

IMG_1762

 

On our way to Cambridge with Beatriz on a beautiful day.  Beatriz’s dress is exactly the shade of green of the Go Green logo.  I admire that level of attention to detail.

 

A bag full of ladybirds
A bag full of ladybirds

 

Waiting for the prize giving to start
Waiting for the prize giving to start

 

Looking suspiciously like we are making a bolt for the door.
Looking suspiciously like we are making a bolt for the door.

 

Becoming a fashion accessory.
Becoming a fashion accessory.

 

At the after party
At the after party

 

Enjoying some GoGreen cake
Enjoying some GoGreen cake

 

The two above are knitted ones that Beatriz and I were given at the Art of Management Conference in York last year.  And finally, this is the one I kept for myself which has spots made of buttons from my mother-in-law’s button box:

 

 

All on my own
All on my own

 

Sorry the photos are so blurry, but they give an indication of what the beasts look like.

Next post will be more textiles and academic quilting-based.

One thought on “The onwards march of the ladybirds

  1. It’s great to see you back!
    The ladybirds are wonderful – I can see that these would be so much fun to make and can understand the appeal of the more “gothic” ones. I can think of a few of Gman’s teenage girl friends who would love these (and who wouldn’t?!)

Leave a Reply

