What I did at the weekend

IMG_2708

I had a great day on Sunday after a not very thrilling week.  I have been working on a new series of small pieces as part of my big Laura Ashley project.  I am making some little Saint Lauras as part of my work in completing my large St Laura quilt, which I thought I had finished until I put it on the wall and it really does look undercooked.

I’ll post more about the work as I go along.  One of my really favourite bloggers writes about work in progress and shows the stages of her pieces, and I think I might do that with this group.  Her blog is fabulous – although it’s not for the faint-hearted.  She is an embroiderer, dressmaker, jeweller, silver smith and on and on.  Anyway, here are some pages from my workbook to be going on with:

IMG_2707 IMG_2706 IMG_2705 IMG_2704 IMG_2703

Also featured, my very unlovely worktable!

3 thoughts on “What I did at the weekend

  1. Ooh, I’ve really enjoyed this peek into your sketchbook. Whenever I go to a gallery or show, if there are sketchbooks showing the artist’s process then I always spend more time with those than the finished artwork itself! Are you planning to make Saint Laura dolls to go with the quilt?

  2. I cannot decide what is more beautiful: the sketchbooks and preparations or the final product. I guess that a lot of the happiness is in the anticipation, and the sketchbooks give you a glimpse into your creative process which normally is very rich. The final product will include all of that but somehow it is simpler, in the way, that the challenge for the artist (as Matisse would say) is to decide on less than more. Well, for baroque, passionate artists like yourself this may not apply! Enjoying so much your blog, as ever!

Leave a Reply

