In which we discover that our blogger is a cheat

IMG_2857

By the time you read this, the challenge that I have been taking part in will have been revealed and so I can show you what I have been doing.

The challenge, at my quilting group, was to take a postcard as inspiration and then make a piece of work A4 or smaller based on it.  In the next round, someone else gets your piece to use as their inspiration and you get another person’s.  The idea is to see how far away from the inspiration you get in four rounds.  So I have made four pieces, including the neckpiece I blogged about last month.

Now, this month I completely forgot until almost the weekend, which I was away for.  Then I came down with a nasty cold.  So, problem.  The inspiration I got was a lovely seascape with boats and cliffs and things, but with sunflowers on the bottom right.  I thought it would be nice to do something based on sunflowers, but ran out of time.  I had to cheat.  Then I remembered that I had an old piece with sunflowers on which is in my drawer of finished work that never found a home/and/or samples.  So I found it.  I think in the end it was a good thing, as the sunflowers are a lot more interesting than the ones I would have made would have been:

IMG_2858

The sunflowers are really easy to make.  You mount some scrap fabric in a really tight embroidery hoop, mark a circle and cut it out.  Make sure the fabric is in the hoop when you cut or you will never get an even circle.  Then you free machine from side to side over the hole and then in a circle in the centre.  Then you cut it out and embellish as you like – or not.  This is my diagram:

IMG_2861

They look really good done in variegated threads.  I can’t remember where I learned this technique – so if you recognise it, please leave a note in the comments.

There is a grass/fringe effect in the piece and I have no idea how I achieved it:

IMG_2860

Quite a lot of it is painted paper a la Sandra Meech:

IMG_2859

With some of the handwriting that she recommends to put in.

So, it is a cheat, but I think that actually it turned out quite well, and better than a quick botch-job which is so often my approach.

 

4 thoughts on “In which we discover that our blogger is a cheat

  1. What a very interesting challenge! Will you be showing any of the pieces after each round of inspiration to see the progress? I am very interested in the development and diversity of ideas. Lovely sunflowers.

    1. Our organiser is keeping all the pieces until our group show. It was interesting to see though, that the first two were generally quite similar and then the second two were similar to each other after breaking with the first two. I wonder if this would happen if you did it six times. Thanks for commenting.

  2. I love the sunflowers, I am not an embroiderer but may have a go at this, I know a couple of other people doing your challenge it sounds as if there are going to be some interesting pieces. Its funny how last minute work can sometimes work out the best, I guess it is more spontaneous

Leave a Reply

