Another Grand Day Out – the Festival of Quilts at the NEC

Durer's Rhinceros in stitch
Durer's Rhinoceros in stitch

 

This weekend was the annual Festival of Quilts at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham.  I know that some North American bloggers occasionally read my blog, so for them, the FOQ is our equivalent of Paducah or Houston, although I understand that it is a tiddler compared with those giants.  It is the national quilting championships for the UK, but it does seem to be turning into more of a shopping event than a quilt show.  Anyway.  The picture at the top of the post breaks all my personal rules about blogging because it is not my work and I don’t know who made it, so I don’t have permission to use it.  But I thought that it was the most brilliant piece in the whole show.  Just gorgeous.  This is the whole thing:

 

Durer's Rhinceros in stitch whole quilt
Durer's Rhinoceros in stitch whole quilt

 

The photo isn’t great because it was taken on a phone, but it gives an idea of this wonderful quilt.  I loved the orange against the deep blue in the details, the glorious quilting and the use of tulle in shading:

 

Durer's Rhinoceros detail
Durer's Rhinoceros detail

 

I love this quilt.  I love the exuberance of the colours, the fabulous stitching which really gives an impression of the rhino hide, the layering of fabric and the perfect scaling.  But what I think is so great is that the maker has really done something with the subject rather than just reproducing it, which is a skill, but doesn’t add much to the experience.  Here is Durer’s rhino:

 

Durer's Rhinoceros
Durer's Rhinoceros

 

So, it is breaking my own rules, but I hope that the maker will stumble on this and see that her work was very much admired and at least one person thinks she should have won…

 

More on FOQ in subsequent posts.

5 thoughts on “Another Grand Day Out – the Festival of Quilts at the NEC

  1. The title of the quilt and the quiltmaker are: My Rhino by Pam Holland
    She describes some of her processes making it on her blog — posted over several months:
    http://pamhollanddesigns.typepad.com/pam_h/2012/01/won-derful.html

    Also, Susan Carlson made a quilt titled, “Tickled Pink,” based on the same Rhino drawing. http://www.susancarlson.com/Tickled_Pink.html

    Both quilts add so much color to the drawing, but in totally different ways. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

