Garden Bloggers Foliage Day – January 2015

I will be back to blogging about my own work shortly. In the meantime, here is a lovely post on a blog I follow which has some fabulous leaves which might provide inspiration.

pbmGarden

Leaves for Creative Design Workshop Leaves for Creative Design Workshop

Today is Garden Bloggers Foliage Day (GBFD), hosted by Christina at Garden of the Hesperides.

I decided to diverge from reviewing my garden this month, as winter foliage here looks very similar to last year’s January GBFD entry, and instead concentrate on some leaves I learned about this week during a floral design class.  I do not grow any of these plants, but I have become interested in adding plants to pbmGarden with foliage that would be usable in flower arrangements.

The workshop teacher purchased these materials from a florist or wholesaler. She encouraged us to take home leftovers, so I have examples of four leaves. The point of using these particular leaves in our class was to experiment with leaf manipulation.  (Leaf manipulation is a very cumbersome term I think.) In contemporary floral design it refers to altering the shape of the leaf through techniques such as rolling, folding, trimming, braiding to create a…

View original post 511 more words

One thought on “Garden Bloggers Foliage Day – January 2015

Leave a Reply

