How well my husband knows me.

Mexican Wrapping Paper
Mexican Wrapping Paper

It was my birthday this week.  It is only when your presents come wrapped in paper like this that you know your 25 year investment in a relationship was time well spent.  I liked the presents, but I loved the paper!  How well the historian knows my taste and where I get a lot of my inspiration.  For example:

Detail from shrine, 2009.
Detail from shrine, 2009.

This is a transfer using acrylic medium of a postcard sent to me by another friend who knows my taste, Amanda.  Such a lovely piece, and I remembered to reverse it so that the writing is the right way round!  Here’s the full piece:

Madonna Shrine 2010
Madonna Shrine 2009

I probably like the back as much as the front:

Madonna Shrine reverse
Madonna Shrine reverse

This is the prototype that I made for a series of shrines about iconic Body Shop products.  I wanted to know if the construction would work and the thing would stand up.  I also learned about the way the edge of the very thick and wonderful to stitch handmade felt was stretched and thus the whole thing leans a bit.  I don’t mind this.  I think it adds to its fake antique charm!

Final example of how much I love my madonnas in their nichos:

Ann's business wisdom: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.
Ann's business wisdom: Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

And a detail:

Detail
Detail

(Frame made of old toothpaste tube and nail varnish, repousse-ed from the back with an old biro).   Final Madonna printed onto cotton ironed onto freezer paper and put through the printer:

Madonna del parto
Madonna del parto

That’s enough madonnas for one day, (ed.)

Leave a Reply

