Sorry for the unannounced gap in posts

Falling man quilt, detail
Falling man quilt, detail

 

Apologies for the break in posts to this blog.  I have had a family emergency and had to go home to Nottingham for a few days. But I am back in Bristol now with lots to blog about once I have had time to take the photos and upload them.

In the meantime, this is a detail of a quilt I made largely in the first flush of enthusiasm for my embellisher.  I was looking through some photos the other day and there was a disproportionately large number of photos of this one, so it must be one of my favourites.  I made it as part of a series of contemporary samplers which I was lucky enough to have shown for one night only at the Whitworth Art Gallery in Manchester, courtesy of a very good friend, Damian O’Doherty, who works at the University of Manchester.  The Whitworth is probably the museum for textiles in this country after the Victoria and Albert, and I never imagined my work would ever get over the threshold.  The evening ended in an ice-cool cocktail bar in Manchester, and then with a taxi ride with Damian in his Comme des Garcons jacket.  Excitement all round.

Normal blogging service will be resumed shortly.

 

Leave a Reply

