Steal like an artist

url

I seldom do book reviews on the blog, but this is a book that I read on a train journey a couple of weeks ago which is worth a look.  I can’t help but feel that my grate friend Alf Rehn said most of this better first, but it is a short snappy book about getting on with creating and making and not just sitting about moaning about not being able to draw.

The central tenet of the book is that we start by stealing but as we practise and become more accomplished we make our own original work by using what we have in the mental filing cabinet.  He gives some interesting ideas about keeping on track and finding time to work, and he describes his own process pretty honestly – at least it rings true.  It is full of the usual inspirational, unreferenced, quotations, one of which, from John Cleese, I really liked:

We don’t know where we get our ideas from.  What we do know is that we do not get them from our laptops.

Which is the sort of thing that I would like to shout at the next person who exhorts me to do more innovative – ie technology-based teaching.

I have certain been up and down the curve that he gives on page 83, and thought other people might find it interesting.

The life of a projectpdf.001

So, this is a short, reassuring read, just right for commuting.

6 thoughts on “Steal like an artist

  1. This made me chuckle. It’s so true!!
    And now I need to get up from the sofa and away from the iPad and ……………

Leave a Reply

